All the Winters After (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
All the Winters After Cover Image
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Staff Reviews

Kachemak Winkel left Alaska after graduation with nary a backward glance, giving up a promising future in music, to study business.  After college he stayed in Austin Texas, had a good job and avoided all those ghosts of his past lurking in Alaska.  Two things have put Kachemak in the seat of an airliner on the 20th anniversary of the plane crash that took his parent’s life.  His grandmother is ailing; she is no longer able to make the trip to Austin for visits and he is unemployed.  Six months ago he was made redundant, settled into a funk, and has not emerged, there is no longer a compelling reason to stay in Texas. 

Kach relied on his aunt to keep up his parent’s home, everyone has their secrets, and his aunt couldn’t face the home place either. For twenty years it has been neglected.  He heads to the remote home-place for the first time in two decades, expecting to see a dilapidated mess, the Alaskan winters being particularly unforgiving on untended property.   Instead he finds the home in pristine condition, every item in place as if his parents had only stepped out for a short while and would be back any moment.  The curator of this unauthorized museum is Nadia, a frightened Russian woman, kept company by a beautiful Husky dog.  Kach is shocked, also intrigued.  His initial response of wondering who was squatting in his property quickly turned to gratitude that Nadia had preserved his home with such care. 

Nadia has spent ten years totally alone in Kach’s family home, an isolated 400 acre homestead bordered by a deep canyon, overshadowed by majestic mountains.  Why is she so afraid to leave?  What secrets is she hiding from? Read this lovely story and find out!

— Deon Stonehouse

March 2016 Indie Next List

“This is the compelling story of a damaged young woman, Nadia, who has taken refuge in a cabin in the Alaskan woods for the last 10 years after escaping an abusive marriage. Kachemak Winkel, the cabin's owner, returns to Alaska after a long absence, still mourning for his parents and older brother who lost their lives in a plane crash 20 years earlier. Two young, damaged souls are at the heart of this beautifully written novel, and the wild and dangerous beauty of Alaska is present throughout. Perfect for book groups!”
— Patricia Worth (W), River Reader LLC, Lexington, MO


From the International bestselling author of The Underside of Joy comes an atmospheric novel about a man who returns to his Alaskan hometown after twenty years

Alaska doesn't forgive mistakes. That's what Kachemak Winkel's mother used to tell him. A lot of mistakes were made that awful day twenty years ago, when she died in a plane crash with Kache's father and brother--and Kache still feels responsible. He fled Alaska for good, but now his aunt Snag insists on his return. She admits she couldn't bring herself to check on his family's house in the woods--not even once since he's been gone.

Kache is sure the cabin has decayed into a pile of logs, but he finds smoke rising from the chimney and a mysterious Russian woman hiding from her own troubled past. Nadia has kept the house exactly the same--a haunting museum of life before the crash. And she's stayed there, afraid and utterly isolated, for ten years.

Set in the majestic, dangerous beauty of Alaska, All the Winters After is the story of two bound souls trying to free themselves, searching for family and forgiveness.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781492615354
ISBN-10: 1492615358
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: February 16th, 2016
Pages: 384
Language: English