Us Forest Service Ranger Stations of the West (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Us Forest Service Ranger Stations of the West Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

US Forest Service Ranger Stations of the West is a comprehensive look at ranger stations beginning in 1899. It is divided into the 7 western regions; Northern Region, Rocky Mountain Region, Southwestern Region, Intermountain Region, Pacific Southwest Region, Pacific Northwest Region, and Alaska Region. Rich in many pictures of the ranger stations.  It concludes with a picture of the Bridgeport Ranger Station that currently sits at the High Desert Museum, moved with the aid of the author.

— Deon Stonehouse


Pioneer US Forest Service rangers and their ranger stations are classic symbols of the American West. Rangers managed the public forests and ranges with the cattlemen, sheepmen, lumbermen, miners, homesteaders, and others who used--and, in many cases, still use-- the lands to build and sustain economies and ways of life. The early rangers are no longer around. But some of the stations from which they protected the West's national forests to secure "the greatest good for the greatest number in the long run," as decreed by the first chief of the US Forest Service, Gifford Pinchot, remain to tell their stories and inspire their successors.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781467103152
ISBN-10: 1467103152
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing (SC)
Publication Date: April 8th, 2019
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Images of America