Mission Hill: A Novel (Abby Endicott Novels #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Mission Hill: A Novel (Abby Endicott Novels #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price
Out of Print - Unlikely to be Available

Staff Reviews


Abby Endicott is not your run of the mill prosecuting attorney, this chief of the District Attorney’s homicide unit dresses in designer clothes, lives in a sumptuous condo, and graduated from Harvard.  She comes from money, a trust fund baby with the bucks doled out by her wealthy parents who are none too happy about their daughter’s choice of employment. Phone calls in the middle of the night mean one thing, murder.  This time the victim hits close, a fellow prosecutor and the man she had a long standing affair with, Tim Mooney.  The affair did not reflect well on either of them, Tim was married with a child, but it ended and was in the past when he was killed, execution style.  This one is personal for Abby.  Tim was involved in the prosecution of a gang leader, a man who killed one of Abby’s childhood friends.  She steps in to take over Tim’s case. The mystery about who killed Tim has plenty of twists, including some dicey scenes with the gang.  For a series to succeed, the characters have to hold our interest.  This opening has a lot going for it.  Abby is fiercely determined and smart, she relies on Police Detective Kevin Farnsworth, a cop who knows the ropes and has her back, she has an attractive boyfriend, Ty, who is supportive and enlightened, and her father is a likeable character.  All of these characters are of a caliber that builds a great group for launching a series.  You will want to read more about all of them.

— Deon Stonehouse

Description


Abby Endicott is chief of the District Attorney’s homicide unit in Boston, where she investigates and prosecutes the city’s most dangerous killers. A member of Beacon Hill’s elite, and a graduate of the Winsor school and then Harvard Law, the prosecutor’s office is not the prestigious job that would have been expected of her. She has been known to change into an evening gown amidst bodies in the morgue. She loves her job, and is committed to it, refusing all pressure to quit from her upper-crust parents or threats from the city’s most ruthless killers. But among Abby’s many secrets is her longtime affair with fellow prosecutor Tim Mooney, a married father of one.

One night, Abby is awakened very late by a phone call from her favorite detective, who reports that there has been a horrific murder but is vague about the specifics. When she arrives at the crime scene and discovers the identity of the victim, Abby knows the terror and tragedy are only beginning.

In Mission Hill, debut novelist Pamela Wechsler delivers a gripping and very human portrayal of a woman who will stop at nothing to find the truth, even if it challenges everything she believes about justice.

About the Author


PAMELA WECHSLER spent over fifteen years working as a criminal prosecutor at the local, state and federal levels. She has served as an assistant district attorney and assistant attorney general in Boston, and she was a trial attorney for the Department of Justice in Washington, D.C.. She has investigated and prosecuted a wide variety of crimes, including: murder, witness intimidation, sexual assault, drug trafficking, stock market manipulation, and political corruption.

Pam moved to Los Angeles to work as a legal consultant and writer and producer for network television shows. Her credits include: Doubt; Law and Order; Law and Order: Criminal Intent; Law and Order: Trial by Jury; Conviction; and Canterbury's Law.

Pam grew up in the Boston area and is a graduate of Tufts and Boston University School of Law. She is now the author of Mission Hill, The Graves, and The Fens. Currently, she is a writer and producer of the CBS drama Bull.

Praise For…


“The author’s knowledge of the legal world shines through, and the result is a story crackling with tension and authenticity … This is an excellent beginning to what seems certain to become a popular series.” —Mystery Scene

“Though the swiftly moving plot offers plenty of surprises, it’s the realism with which the author, a seasoned Boston criminal prosecutor who’s now a legal consultant for TV shows, depicts varied worlds from Brahmin glitzy to Roxbury gritty that will make readers eager for Abby’s next adventure.” –Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Alafair Burke’s 'Samantha Kincaid' series and other legal thriller authors will be well advised to get in on the ground floor of what promises to be an intriguing new series." —Library Journal

"A fast-paced legal thriller that will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Linda Fairstein." —Booklist

“A fantastic series opener—authentic, gritty and romantic. Pam Wechsler delivers a thrill ride, crackling with suspense, wit and style. The story is rich, the characters are complex, and the writing is deft. I can't wait for the next one.” —Billy Bob Thornton, Academy Award winning writer, actor, and director

“Riveting, suspenseful and heartbreakingly realistic. Pam Wechsler joins the ranks of Boston's finest with her searing and authentic look inside the prosecution—and at the danger when justice gets personal. Mission Hill is terrific.”—Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark award winning author

“With a tough and terrific heroine in Boston Brahmin and homicide chief (yes, that's right) Abby Endicott, Mission Hill is a perfect mix of suspense, character, and authenticity. A wonderful read.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary

"Wechsler's multilayered plot realistically touches on legal ethics, political intrigue and construction double-dealings with aplomb with plenty of twists ... Mission Hill gives Boston a good workout, from Jamaica Plain to Roxbury to Beacon Hill. Wechsler's strong storytelling fits well into the legal thriller genre and should attract fans of Linda Fairstein, Alafair Burke and Lisa Scottoline." —Associated Press

"Wechsler, who has written for Law & Order, fills the book with energetic lawyer chat, lending Abby a breezy, cynical wit that complements her narrative style and wry character portrayals." —The Improper Bostonian

"All I can say is Mission Hill by Pamela Wechsler is brilliant...Pamela writes a great story about a woman who could have it all but would rather help out people then rely on her family's money. Most people don't have that choice. I know that Mission Hill and subsequent books are going to be a great series, with Abby as the main character." -- Fresh Fiction

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250075697
ISBN-10: 1250075696
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Abby Endicott Novels