The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper Cover Image
Email or call for price
Hard to Find - Unlikely to be Available

Staff Reviews


An unusual and beguiling premise makes this a fun book to read.  Arthur Pepper is 69 when a discovery on the first anniversary of his wife’s death sends him on series of journeys.  Going through her closet preparatory to donating her clothes to charity, he discovers a charm bracelet in one of her boots.  The bracelet is of a high quality and the charms each unique, suggesting they each held a meaning for his wife.  That he had no knowledge of the meanings of these charms spurs him on an investigation taking him back to the days before his wife had met him, finding out there was quite a lot he did not know.  India and Paris come into the search, although Arthur never knew his wife traveled outside Britain.  Tigers come into the equation.  As he discovers a side of his wife he did not know, he also learns more about himself.  As in any life, some of his wife’s past is happy and some sad.  The discoveries change Arthur’s perspective but not his love for the woman who shared his life.  As he learns from the past, he also begins to change his own future, to take part more fully in life.  There is a cast of oddball characters, the friendly neighbor across the street, a sweet guy who constantly mows his lawn and has an affinity for finding lost turtles, the annoying next door neighbor who is constantly bringing round unwanted food and inserting herself into Arthur’s doings if given the slightest opportunity, a down on his luck flutist who saves Arthur, and the flutists cute dachshund, along with a plethora of others. The story also involved Arthur’s relationship with his adult children, as he grows in awareness of himself he is able to reach out to them.  If you are looking for something light to read, with a good premise give it a try.

— Deon Stonehouse

June 2016 Indie Next List


“Arthur Pepper has finally gotten around to cleaning out his deceased wife's clothes when he comes across her charm bracelet. He doesn't remember seeing it before, and the charms pique his curiosity about the life his wife led before they met. Thus begins an adventure that will have Arthur learning to embrace life more fully and becoming more present in the lives of those he cares about. Grab a seat and get lost in this charming read with characters you will cheer on, laugh with, and perhaps shed a tear for.”
— Lisa Fabiano (E), An Unlikely Story, Plainville, MA

Description


Look for Phaedra Patrick's newest perfectly charming read, The Secrets of Love Story Bridge.

"An endearing celebration of life." -RealSimple.com

Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove, this curiously charming debut follows a lovable widower and his life-changing adventure of love and self-discovery.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met--a journey that leads him to find hope and healing in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous reminder of life's infinite possibilities.

Check out these other heartwarming stories from Phaedra Patrick.

The Library of Lost and Found
Rise and Shine Benedict Stone
Product Details
ISBN: 9780778319337
ISBN-10: 0778319334
Publisher: Mira Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English