Breakfast at Tiffany's (Vintage International) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Breakfast at Tiffany's (Vintage International) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

This novel contains not only the novella made famous by the
Cary Grant-Audrey Hepburn film but also 3 other short stories.  Breakfast at Tiffany’s is the story
of a free spirit, Holiday Golightly, a woman of many secrets and much
panache.  Set in New York in 1943, the
story revolves around Holly and her relationship to a variety of people,
including the narrator, a young man residing in the same brownstone apartment
building.  Capote mined his own life
deeply in his fiction.  There has been
much speculation as to the identity of the model for Holiday Golightly, front
runners are the author’s mother Nina Capote and his good friend, Marylyn

The last story in the book, A
Christmas Memory
, should put you in the mood for the upcoming holiday
and the deeper meaning of its celebration. 
Again Capote is inspired by his past in writing this lovely short
story.  The main characters are Buddy, a
seven year old little boy, and his cousin Sook, a woman in her sixties.  They are dirt poor, but they do their best
for the holiday, saving their pennies to buy the fixings for fruitcake and
taking their dog with them off into the forest for the perfect Christmas tree.

— Deon Stonehouse


Holly Golightly knows that nothing bad can ever happen to you at Tiffany's. In this seductive, wistful masterpiece, Capote created a woman whose name has entered the American idiom and whose style is a part of the literary landscape—her poignancy, wit, and naïveté continue to charm.

This volume also includes three of Capote's best-known stories, “House of Flowers,” “A Diamond Guitar,” and “A Christmas Memory,” which the Saturday Review called “one of the most moving stories in our language.” It is a tale of two innocents—a small boy and the old woman who is his best friend—whose sweetness contains a hard, sharp kernel of truth.

About the Author

Truman Capote (1924-84) rose to international prominence in 1948 with the publication of his debut novel, Other Voices, Other Rooms. His other works of fiction include Breakfast at Tiffany's, A Tree of Night, The Grass Harp, and Summer Crossing, the author's long-lost first novel, which was rediscovered in 2004 and published by Random House in 2005. He is also the author of Portraits and Observations: The Essays of Truman Capote. His nonfiction novel In Cold Blood is widely considered one of the greatest books of the twentieth century.

Praise For…

“Truman Capote is the most perfect writer of my generation. He writes the best sentences word for word, rhythm upon rhythm.”—Norman Mailer
Product Details
ISBN: 9780679745655
ISBN-10: 0679745653
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: September 28th, 1993
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Vintage International