Black Rabbit Hall (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Black Rabbit Hall Cover Image
$29.70
Special Order

Staff Reviews


In 1968 the Alton children lived charmed lives.  Amber and Toby, the teenage twins, young Barney, and baby Kitty live in London and at their Cornwall estate, Black Rabbit Hall, an ideal environment with forest, meadow, and beach for active children to play.  Their father, an aristocratic Brit, married outside his social circle, snatching their mother, a tall, athletic, copper haired beauty and daring equestrian away from Maine. The result was one of those love matches, rare and delicate. Even after four children, electricity zaps between them.  Then something happens, something tragic.  Decades later Jon and Lorna are scouting locations for their upcoming wedding.  Lorna has her heart set on marrying in Cornwall; they have only one place left to check before they give up and marry more conveniently closer to home.  Black Rabbit Hall, known formally as Pencraw Hall, is the last place on the list.  Lorna has a sense of déjà vu in the stately old home where neglect and time have taken a toll.  Jon, who works in the family run construction firm, sees the decay, the leaking roof, the bushes growing through the floors, and finds it overwhelmingly dilapidated.  Not the sort of place to book for a wedding.  Lorna’s reaction is very different; from the moment they arrived it is as if the house has some strange pull on her.  The owner, an old aristocratic woman, is keen to secure the booking, it is to be the first wedding booked for Black Rabbit Hall  (not surprising considering the condition).  Jon balks but he is out maneuvered by the elderly dame when she offers a weekend visit to make up their minds.  As the days pass and the time for Lorna’s visit grows near, memories from her childhood, memories about her mother, begin to surface. Jon’s worry grows over Lorna’s strange fascination with Black Rabbit Hall.  If you enjoy Kate Morton, this should be right up your alley.

— Deon Stonehouse

Description


“For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read.”—Bookpage
 
A secret history. A long-ago summer. A house with an untold story.
 
Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s Cornish country house, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, one terrible day, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, she soon finds herself ensnared within the house’s labyrinthine history, overcome with a need for answers about her own past and that of the once-golden family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Eve Chase's debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

About the Author


Eve Chase is an exciting new voice in fiction. She lives in Oxford, England with her husband and three children.

Praise For…


“For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read, but it is sure to please any reader who delights in devilishly thrilling dramas. . . . ."  —BookPage
 
“Like the setting of Robert Frost’s Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening, Chase’s novel is lovely, dark and deep..” —Richmond Times-Dispatch
 
"If Daphne Du Maurier and Ruth Rendell in Barbara Vine mode had been able to collaborate, they might have come up with something like Black Rabbit Hall: Rebecca meets A Fatal Inversion." --John Harwood, author of The Ghost Writer 

“A glorious, beautifully written fairy tale for grownups.” --Lisa Jewell,  bestselling author of The Girls in the Garden

"A twisting gothic of family secrets, forbidden lust, and an extraordinary family." --Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, author of Bittersweet

“Equal parts romance, mystery, and historical fiction. For readers who are interested in complex period drama such as Daisy Goodwin’s The American Heiress, or who enjoy a touch of the gothic such as in Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca or Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale.” –Library Journal (starred review)

"A gorgeously written novel describing the love and affection that hold families together and the powerful forces that can tear them apart.” --Huffington Post

“Chase deserves high marks for her atmospheric setting and vivid prose, and fans of old-fashioned gothic stories will find this a winner.” –-Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Carla Buckley and Lucie Whitehouse will enjoy this thrilling story of crumbling walls, forbidden love, and family sacrifice." --Booklist

“Compellingly readable and riddled with twists and turns worthy of Daphne du Maurier, Chase's tale will delight fans of romantic mysteries.” –Kirkus Reviews 

“A deliciously intriguing novel whose rich sense of time and place bear more than a few echoes of du Maurier's best.”—Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls

"A stunning page turner. Black Rabbit Hall deserves a place among the very best in gothic fiction."--Michelle Gable, author of A Paris Apartment

"A deliciously addicting gothic." --Wendy Webb, author of The Tale of Halcyon Crane

“An enthralling and deeply moving novel about family secrets, loss, and love." —Margaret Leroy, author of The Soldier’s Wife

“The spellbinding, lusciously-written story of two families twined together across the span of time, trapped in limbo in a magical, sea-swept Cornwall house with secrets as deep as its Normandy roots.” —Carla Buckley, author of The Things That Keep Us Here

"A truly captivating novel." --Deborah Lawrenson, author of The Lantern and The Sea Garden

"Expertly crafted, dark, beautiful and utterly enthralling." –-Rowan Coleman, author of The Accidental Mother
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399174124
ISBN-10: 0399174125
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: February 9th, 2016
Pages: 384
Language: English