The Hound of the Baskervilles, A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four: Introduction by Andrew Lycett (Everyman's Library Classics Series) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Hound of the Baskervilles, A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four: Introduction by Andrew Lycett (Everyman's Library Classics Series) By Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Andrew Lycett (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Andrew Lycett (Introduction by)
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Staff Reviews

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, my favorite of his Sherlock Holmes novels.  A curse has been handed down through the generations of Baskerville heirs, it is best they stay off of the moor at night or they risk violent grisly deaths at the jaws of spectral hounds.  Or do they?  Sherlock Holmes suspects a more mortal agent for the unfortunate demise of the latest Baskerville than the Prince of Darkness.  Sir Charles was found dead, the paw prints of a great hound nearby. The neighbors fear the curse has claimed another Baskerville. A new heir will soon reside in the ancestral home, but will he live to enjoy the great wealth of his inheritance?  Or will The Hound of the Baskervilles claim another victim? 

— Deon Stonehouse


Three of the enthralling novels that brought us the world’s greatest fictional detective are gathered here in one volume.

In 1887, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s mystery novel A Study in Scarlet unleashed for the first time the unflappable Sherlock Holmes and his partner, Dr. John Watson. Watson and Holmes would go on to become two of the most widely admired characters in all of literature. The stories and novels that followed—including The Sign of Four and The Hound of the Baskervilles—expanded the duo’s practice at 221B Baker Street, thrilling readers with the impeccable powers of deduction that inevitably guide Holmes toward any mystery’s solution.

A Study in Scarlet, a tale of Mormons and murder, is a drama of long-simmering revenge that plays out on the gaslit streets of London but has its dark roots in the pioneer settlements of Utah. The Sign of Four weaves together a stolen treasure from India, poison darts, and double-crossing thieves, while The Hound of the Baskervilles sets the legend of a diabolical hellhound and an old family curse against the backdrop of a desolate, moonlit moor. All three novels are gripping, timeless, and exquisitely plotted—beloved and indispensable classics of the detective genre.

About the Author

ARTHUR CONAN DOYLE was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1859. A Study in Scarlet, his first novel and Sherlock Holmes story, was published in Beeton's Christmas Annual in 1887. He was the author of more than fifty novels, ranging in genre from science fiction to historical fiction. He died in 1930.

ANDREW LYCETT is the author of critically acclaimed biographies of Muammar Qaddafi, Ian Fleming, Rudyard Kipling, Dylan Thomas, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Wilkie Collins.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780375712678
ISBN-10: 0375712674
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Publication Date: December 2nd, 2014
Pages: 456
Language: English
Series: Everyman's Library Classics Series