The Fire Court (James Marwood & Cat Lovett, Book 2) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Fire Court (James Marwood & Cat Lovett, Book 2) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

In 1666 the Great Fire set London ablaze, leaving behind destruction. In an effort to quickly rebuild the devastated city, King Charles II created the Fire Court to resolve disputes between Landlord and Tenant over who would bear the cost of rebuilding. 

James Marwood is doing well for a young man, working as a clerk in a government office, a position that allows him the funds to rent a small abode and hire two servants to take care of the home and his aged father.  The elderly man’s wits are addled; his religious beliefs marked him as a traitor and earned him years in prison. 

As the story opens, James’ father abandoned the bench he was sitting on to follow a woman, her path took him into the building where the lawyers for the Fire Court had chambers.  There he finds a murdered woman but when he is returned home by a kindly working man who finds the old man wandering and confused, his account is so muddled that James dos not take it seriously.  Then his father is killed, ran down in the street, and suddenly James feels honor bound to find the truth. 

— Deon Stonehouse


From No.1 bestselling author Andrew Taylor comes the sequel to the phenomenally successful The Ashes of London

Somewhere in the soot-stained ruins of Restoration London, a killer has gone to ground...

The Great Fire has ravaged London, wreaking destruction and devastation wherever its flames spread. Now, guided by the incorruptible Fire Court, the city is slowly rebuilding, but times are volatile and danger is only ever a heartbeat away.

James Marwood, son of a traitor, is thrust into this treacherous environment when his ailing father claims to have stumbled upon a murdered woman - in the very place where the Fire Court sits. Then his father is run down and killed. Accident? Or another murder...?

Determined to uncover the truth, Marwood turns to the one person he can trust - Cat Lovett, the daughter of a despised regicide. Marwood has helped her in the past. Now it's her turn to help him. But then comes a third death... and Marwood and Cat are forced to confront a vicious and increasingly desperate killer whose actions threaten the future of the city itself.

About the Author

Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed TV drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, The Scent of Death and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club Choice.He has won many awards, including the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger, an Edgar Scroll from the Mystery Writers of America, the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award (the only author to win it three times) and the CWA's prestigious Diamond Dagger, awarded for sustained excellence in crime writing. He also writes for the Spectator and The Times.He lives with his wife Caroline in the Forest of Dean.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008309954
ISBN-10: 0008309957
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 15th, 2019
Pages: 448
Language: English